Diversity Committee

The Diversity Committee oversees the efforts that will increase participation and development of under represented individuals and social categories within the Society.  It recommends programs and policies to the council that affect diversity in the Society.

SAVE THE DATE – Tuesday, September 29 and Friday, November 6!

The Diversity Committee is Seeking RSS Members to Participate in Two Workshops

Dear RSS members,

As part of our ongoing work, the Diversity Committee has made multiple recommendations to the RSS Executive Council to institute structural changes that promote equality and racial justice in the Society. One such recommendation is to develop a Diversity Mission Statement through a collaborative and deliberative process with RSS members. Therefore, the Diversity Committee would like to extend an invitation to RSS members to participate in two virtual workshops to develop a Diversity Mission Statement.

The first workshop will be held on Tuesday, September 29 at 11:00am-12:00pm (EST). The second workshop will be held on Friday, November 6 at 11:00am-12:00pm (EST). The first workshop will serve as a space for sharing initial ideas, while the second workshop will involve finalizing language for the statement.

We hope that these two workshops will provide an opportunity for RSS members to discuss ideas that are important to the Society. Particularly since the annual meeting was cancelled this year, we additionally hope that these workshops create a space for intellectual exchange among members.

More information will follow as the date for the first workshop approaches. In the meantime, please feel free to email Ian Carrillo if you have any questions ([email protected]).


Ian Carrillo Chair 2017-2020 [email protected]
  Chair Elect    
Jinyoung Choi apptd 2018-2021 [email protected]
Marcia Owens apptd 2019-2022 [email protected]
Aimee Vieira apptd 2019-2022 [email protected]
Rayna Sage apptd 2019-2022 [email protected]
Mark Harvey apptd 2017-2020 [email protected]
José García-Pabón apptd 2017-2020 [email protected]
Paige Kelly grad apptd 2019-2020 [email protected]