Past Recipients of RSS Awards

According to the Bylaws, the Awards and Endowment Committee shall organize and implement the Society's efforts to recognize and honor those persons whose diverse efforts have enhanced the field of rural sociology and/or improved the conditions of rural people and places. The Society supports scholarship and practice to improve the quality of rural life through the distribution of funds from the Endowment.  

2017 RSS Annual Meeting Award Recipients

2018 RSS Annual Meeting Award Recipients


Past Recipients of RSS Awards

Distinguished Service to Rural Life Award 

Distinguished Rural Sociologist Award 

Excellence in Research Award  

Excellence in Instruction  

Excellence in Extension and Public Outreach 

Olaf Larson Graduate Student Paper Award

Certificate of Appreciation  

Frederick H. Buttel Outstanding Scholarly Achievement Award  

Rural Sociology Best Paper Award