The Rural Sociological Society has several research and interest groups that members can join and participate in. These groups also coordinate activities and session for the Annual Meetings.

RIG Committee Chair:

Rich Stedman (Chair)

Douglas Jackson-Smith (past VP)

Rural Policy RIG
Chair: Wendy Fuller
wfuller@norwich.edu
Co-Chair: Douglas Jackson-Smith
doug.jackson-smith@usu.edu

Rural Poverty RIG
Chair: David Peters
dpeters@iastate.edu

Rural Studies RIG
Chair: Kate MacTavish
kate.mactavish@oregonstate.edu
Co-Chair: Loka Ashwood
ashwood@wisc.edu

Rural Racial Ethnic Minorities RIG
Chair: Michelle Eley
mleley@ncat.edu

Senior Rural Sociologists RIG
Chair: J. I. (Hans) Bakker
hbakker@uoguelph.ca
Co-Chair: Bill Lacy
wblacy@ucdavis.edu

Sociology of Agriculture & Food RIG
Chair: Michelle Worosz
mrw0016@auburn.edu
Co-Chair: Rick Welsh
jrwelsh@syr.edu

Teaching and Curriculum RIG
Chair: Susan Farner
sfarner@illinois.edu
Co-Chair: Jennifer Steele
jen.steele@mail.wvu.edu

Applied and Extension RIG
Chair: Melissa Fry
frym@ius.edu
Co-Chair: Lorraine Garkovich
lgarkov@uky.edu

Community RIG
Chair: Gretchen Thompson
ghthomps2@gmail.com

Education and Work RIG
Chair: Kai Arthur Schafft
kas45@psu.edu

Family and Health RIG
Chair: Alex McIntosh
w-mcintosh@tamu.edu
Co-Chair: Wes Dean
wdean@rsph.tamhsc.edu

Natural Resources RIG
Chair: Becky Schewe
rebecca.schewe@msstate.edu
Co-Chair: Jeffrey Jacquet
jeffrey.jacquet@gmail.com

Population RIG
Chair: John Green
greenjj1@gmail.com
Co-Chair: Shannon Monnat
smm67@psu.edu

Rural Gender Issues RIG
Co-Chair: Julie Keller
jckeller@wisc.edu
Co- Chair: Lisa Pruitt
lrpruitt@ucdavis.edu


 

We are sorry it has taken us so long to get this out to you, but we finally have your budget ready for you.  There is $2,288.73in your budget as of the end of May.  Our goal is to give you an updated budget every month from here on out.  Again, we are sorry for the delay in getting this out to you and we wish you the best.