The Rural Sociological Society has several research and interest groups (RIGs) that members can join and participate in. These groups coordinate activities and sessions for the Annual Meetings.

RIG Committee Chairs and Co-chairs:

Rural Policy
Chair: Rhianna Williams
rlwillia@mtu.edu

Rural Poverty  
Chair:Lisa Pruitt
lrpruitt@ucdavis.edu

Co-Chair: Eric Freeman
eric.freeman@wichita.edu

Rural Studies
Chair: Loka Ashwood
lla0008@auburn.edu

Co-chair: Joe Jakubek
Jakubek@ksu.edu

Rural Racial Ethnic Minorities
Co-Chair: Mark Harvey
Mharve16@fau.edu

Co-Chair: Jose Garcia-Pabon
garciajl@wsu.edu

Senior Rural Sociologists
Chair: J.I. (Hans) Bakker
hbakker@uoguelph.ca

Sociology of Agriculture & Food
Chair: Dara Bloom
jdbloom@ncsu.edu

Co-Chair: Jessica Goldberger
jgoldberger@wsu.edu

Teaching and Curriculum
Chair: Jeff Taylor
jtaylor@wivalley.net

Co-chair: Anjel Stough-Hunter
Stough.16@osu.edu

Applied and Extension
Chair: Melissa Fry
frym@ius.edu

Community, Health and Family
Chair: Karl Jicha
kajicha@ncsu.edu

Community Co-Chair: Jessica Crowe
jessica.crowe@siu.edu

Family and Health Co-chair: Stephanie Teixeira-Poit
steixeira@rti.org

Youth, Education, and Rural Vitality
Chair: John Sipple
jsipple@cornell.edu

Co-Chair: Kai Schafft
kas45@psu.edu

Natural Resources
Chair: Jessica Ulrich-Schad
jessicad.ulrich@gmail.com

Co-chair: Weston Eaton
wesdrm@gmail.com

Population
Chair: Brian Thiede
bthiede@lsu.edu

Co-Chair: Jessica Ulrich-Schad
jessicad.ulrich@gmail.com

Rural Gender Issues
Chair: Jennifer Sherman
jennifer_sherman@wsu.edu

Co-chair: Teresa Sobieszczyk
teresa.sobieszczyk@mso.umt.edu

International Development & Studies (New)
Chair: John Green
Greenjj1@gmail.com

Co-Chair: Cornelia Flora
cflora@iastate.edu