The Rural Sociological Society has several research and interest groups (RIGs) that members can join and participate in. These groups coordinate activities and sessions for the Annual Meetings.

RIG Committee Chairs and Co-chairs:

Rural Policy
Chair: Rhianna Williams
rlwillia@mtu.edu

Co-Chair: Joe Jakubek
jakubek@k-state.edu

Rural Poverty  
Chair: Eric Freeman
eric.freeman@wichita.edu

Co-Chair: Lizzy Seale
elizabeth.seale@oneonta.edu

Co-Chair: Dreamal Worthen
dreamal.worthen@famu.edu

Rural Studies
Chair: Lisa Pruitt
lrpruitt@ucdavis.edu

Co-chair: Barbara Ching
bching@iastate.edu

Rural Racial Ethnic Minorities
Chair: Mark Harvey
Mharve16@fau.edu

Co-Chair: Jose Garcia-Pabon
garciajl@wsu.edu

Senior Rural Sociologists
Chair: J.I. (Hans) Bakker
hbakker@uoguelph.ca

Sociology of Agriculture & Food
Chair: Jessica Goldberger
jgoldberger@wsu.edu

Co-Chair: Danielle (Dani) Deemer
deemer.dani@gmail.com/ DDeemer@newhaven.edu

Teaching and Curriculum
Co-chair: Anjel Stough-Hunter
Stough.16@osu.edu

Co-chair: Caroline Brock
brockcc@missouri.edu

Co-Chair: Jessica Crowe
jessica.crowe@siu.edu

 

Applied and Extension
Chair: Melissa Fry
frym@ius.edu

Community, Health, and Family
Chair: Karl Jicha
kajicha@ncsu.edu

Community Co-Chair: Jessica Crowe
jessica.crowe@siu.edu

Family & Health Co-chair: Stephanie Teixeira-Poit
steixeira@rti.org

Youth, Education, and Rural Vitality
Chair: John Sipple
jsipple@cornell.edu

Co-Chair: Kai Schafft
kas45@psu.edu

Natural Resources
Chair: Weston Eaton
wesdrm@gmail.com

Co-Chair: Aby Sene-Harper
abysene1@tamu.edu

Grad Rep: Grace Wildermuth 
gvw5117@psu.edu
 

Population
Chair: Jessica Ulrich-Schad
jessicad.ulrich@gmail.com

Co-Chair: Shaun Golding
goldings@kenyon.edu

Grad Rep: Amit Anshumali
aa299@cornell.edu
 

Rural Gender Issues
Chair: Emily Wornell
ejw224@psu.edu

Co-Chair: Rayna Sage
rayna.sage@email.wsu.edu

International Development & Studies

Chair: Laura McKinney
lauramc@tulane.edu

Co-Chair: John Green
jjgreen@olemiss.com