The Rural Sociological Society has several research and interest groups that members can join and participate in. These groups also coordinate activities and session for the Annual Meetings.

RIG Committee Chair:


Rural Policy RIG

Chair: Wendy Fuller
Co-Chair: Joe Campbell

Rural Poverty RIG

Rural Studies RIG

Chair: Kate MacTavish
Co-chair: Loka Ashwood

Rural Racial Ethnic Minorities RIG

Chair: Aimee Vieira

Emeritus Rural Sociologists RIG

Chair: J.I. (Hans) Bakker

Sociology of Agriculture & Food RIG

Chair: Rick Welsh

Teaching and Curriculum RIG

Chair: TBA
Co-chair: TBA

Applied and Extension RIG

Chair: Melissa Fry

Community RIG

Chair: Karl Jicha

Youth, Education, and Rural Vitality RIG

Chair: Kai Schafft
Co-Chair: John Sipple

Family and Health RIG

Chair: Alex McIntosh

Natural Resources RIG

Chair: Jeffrey Jacquet
Co-Chair: Jessica Ulrich-Schad

Population RIG

Chair: Shannon Monnat
Co-Chair: Brian Thiede

Rural Gender Issues RIG

Chair: Jennifer Sherman
Co-chair: Teresa Sobieszczyk