RIGs

What are Research and Interest Groups? Research and Interest Groups (RIGs) reflect the substantive interests of RSS Members and serve as an important avenue for connecting members with similar interests.  RIGs serve a critical role in RSS including: identifying, developing, and recruiting for the annual RSS conference; planning special events, speakers, field trips for the annual conference; providing intellectual leadership in their respective areas; rewarding achievement through internal awards and recognitions; and creating opportunities for members, particularly graduate students, to network and identify colleagues with similar interests. 

RSS currently has 14 RIGs. To find out more about each RSS Research and Interest Group (RIG) simply click on the title below or contact the leader of the RIG. If you are interested in proposing a new RIG and know at least 6 RSS members who share your interests, contact the current Vice President with your idea.  Kathy Brasier is the 2017 VP and her e-mail address is kbrasier@psu.edu.

Click on the RIG's title for more information.  Click here for information about RIG dues.

Applied and Extension
Chair: Melissa Fry
frym@ius.edu

Community, Health, and Family
Community Chair: Jessica Crowe
jessica.crowe@siu.edu

Community Co-Chair: Anne Cafer
amchz9@mail.missouri.edu

Health Co-Chair: Stephanie Teixeira-Poit
steixeira@rti.org

Youth, Education, and Rural Vitality
Chair: John Sipple
jsipple@cornell.edu

Co-Chair: Kai Schafft
kas45@psu.edu

Natural Resources
Chair: Yetkin Borlu
yborlu@richmond.edu

Co-Chair: Amanda Buday
atbuday@fhsu.edu

Grad Rep: Catrin Edgeley
cedgeley@uidaho.edu

Population

Chair: Shaun Golding
goldings@kenyon.edu

Co-Chair: Tim Slack

timslack76@gmail.com

Grad Rep: Rachel Haggard

rhaggard@go.olemiss.edu

Rural Gender Issues
Co-Chair: Emily Wornell
ejwornell@bsu.edu

Co-Chair: Rayna Sage
rayna.sage@mso.umt.edu

International Development & Studies 
Chair: Laura McKinney
lauramc@tulane.edu

Co-Chair: John Green
jjgreen@olemiss.com

Rural Policy
Chair: Rhianna Williams
rlwillia@mtu.edu

Co-Chair: Joe Jakubek
jakubek@k-state.edu

Rural Poverty  
Chair: Eric Freeman
eric.freeman@wichita.edu

Co-Chair: Lizzy Seale
elizabeth.seale@oneonta.edu

Co-Chair: Dreamal Worthen
dreamal.worthen@famu.edu

Rural Studies
Co-Chair: Dianna Bryant
bryant@ucmo.edu

Co-chair: Paige Kelly
paige.e.kelly34@gmail.com

Rural Racial Ethnic Minorities
Chair: Jose Garcia-Pabon

garciajl@wsu.edu

Senior Rural Sociologists
Chair: J.I. (Hans) Bakker
hbakker@uoguelph.ca

Sociology of Agriculture and Food (SAFRIG)

Co-Chair: Ethan Schoolman
ethan.schoolman@rutgers.edu

Co-Chair: Danielle (Dani) Deemer

demmer.dani@gmail.com 

Teaching and Curriculum 
Chair: Jessica Crowe

jessica.crowe@siu.edu

Co-Chair: Amanda Buday

atbuday@fhsu.edu