The Rural Sociological Society (RSS)

The RSS is a professional social science association that promotes the generation, application, and dissemination of sociological knowledge. The Society seeks to enhance the quality of rural life, communities, and the environment. This website is intended to serve all those interested in rural people and places.


2015 RSS Awards

Join in celebrating the award recipients for 2015 RSS  awards listed below.  For more information on their research work, click here

Master’s Thesis Award

Isaac Leslie, University of New Hampshire

Doctoral Dissertation Awards

Aysha Bodenhamer, North Carolina State University

Analena Bruce, Rutgers University

Renata Moreno Quintero, State University of New York, SUNY-ESF

Jennifer Swanson, Syracuse University

Emily Wornell, Pennsylvania State University

Early Career Awards

Rayna Sage, Washington State University

Chelsea Shelly, Michigan Technological University

Jessica Ulrich, Purdue University

Distinguished Rural Sociologist

David L. Brown, Cornell University

Excellence in Extension and Public Outreach

Cheryl Burkhart-Kriesel, University of Nebraska

Excellence in Instruction

Elizabeth Ransom, University of Richmond

Excellence in Research

Doug Jackson-Smith, Utah State University

Certificate of Appreciation

Scott R. Sanders, Brigham Young University

Rural Sociology Best Paper

Loka Ashwood, Auburn University

Noelle Harden, University of Minnesota

Michael Bell, University of Wisconsin-Madison

William Bland, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Olaf Larson Graduate Student Paper

Ryan Ceresola, Southern Illinois University

Fred Buttel Outstanding Scholarly Achievement

Daniel Jafee, Portland State University

Soren Newman, University of Idaho

Distinguished Service to Rural Life

Appalshop, Whitesburg, Kentucky


IRSA 2016 Toronto