2020 SAFRIG Paper Award Winners

SAFRIG Announces 2020 Student Paper Award Winners

The Sociology of Agriculture and Food Research and Interest Group (SAFRIG) is pleased to announce the following student paper award winners.

  • Michaela Hoffelmeyer, The Pennsylvania State University, was awarded $150.00 for their paper entitled, “Out” on the Farm: Queer Farmers Maneuvering Heterosexism & Visibility.
  • Angela Serrano, University of Wisconsin-Madison, received an honorable mention for their paper, Small-Scale Farmers Growing Oil Palm: Mobilizing Local Knowledge to Confront Global Risks.
  • Crystal Boutwell, Auburn University, received an honorable mention for their paper, Dispossession of Community: Industrial Animal Production in Rural Missouri.
Congratulations Michaela, Angela, and Crystal!