Research and Interest Groups (RIGs)

Kathyrn Brasier (Chair)
Michael Lotspeich, student representative  (2016-2017)

Rural Policy RIG
Chair: Rhianna Williams
rlwillia@mtu.edu
 
Co-Chair: Joe Jakubek
jakubek@k-state.edu
 
Rural Poverty RIG 
Chair: Eric Freeman
eric.freeman@wichita.edu
 
Co-Chair: Lizzy Seale
elizabeth.seale@oneonta.edu
 
Co-Chair: Dreamal Worthen
dreamal.worthen@famu.edu
 
Rural Studies RIG
Chair: Lisa Pruitt
lrpruitt@ucdavis.edu
 
Co-chair: Babara Ching
bching@iastate.edu
 
Rural Racial Ethnic Minorities RIG
Chair: Mark Harvey
Mharve16@fau.edu
 
Co-Chair: Jose Garcia-Pabon
garciajl@wsu.edu
 
Senior Rural Sociologists RIG
Chair: J.I. (Hans) Bakker
hbakker@uoguelph.ca
 
Sociology of Agriculture & Food RIG
Chair: Jessica Goldberger
jgoldberger@wsu.edu
 
Co-Chair: Danielle (Dani) Deemer
deemer.dani@gmail.com/DDeemer@newhaven.edu
 
Teaching and Curriculum RIG 
Co-chair: Anjel Stough-Hunter
Stough.16@osu.edu
 
Co-chair: Caroline Brock
brockcc@missouri.edu
 
Co-Chair: Jessica Crowe
jessica.crowe@siu.edu
 
Applied and Extension RIG
Chair: Melissa Fry
frym@ius.edu
 
Community, Health and Family  RIG
Community Chair: Jessica Crowe
jessica.crowe@siu.edu
 
Community Co-Chair: Anne Cafer
amchz9@mail.missouri.edu
 
Health Co-Chair: Stephanie Teixeira-Poit
Steixeira@rti.org
 
Youth, Education, and Rural Vitality RIG
Chair: John Sipple
jsipple@cornell.edu
 
Co-chair: Kai Schafft 
kas45@psu.edu
 
 Natural Resources RIG 
Chair: Wes Eaton
wesdrm@gmail.com
 
Co-Chair: Aby Sene-Harper
abysene1@tamu.edu
 
Grad Rep: Grace Wildermuth
gvw5117@psu.edu
 
Population RIG
Chair: Jessica Ulrich-Schad
jessicad.ulrich@gmail.com
 
Co-Chair: Shaun Golding
goldings@kenyon.edu
 
Grad Rep: Amit Anshumali
aa299@cornell.edu
 
Rural Gender Issues RIG
Chair: Emily Wornell
ejw224@psu.edu
 
Co-Chair: Rayna Sage
rayna.sage@mso.umt.edu
 
International Development RIG (New RIG)
Chair: Laura McKinney
lauramc@tulane.edu
 
Co-Chair: John Green
jjgreen@olemiss.com