Research and Interest Groups (RIGs)

Richard Stedman (Chair and VP)
Douglas Constance (past VP)

Applied and Extension RIG

Chair: Melissa Fry
frym@ius.edu
Co-Chair: Lorraine Garkovich
lgarkov@uky.edu

Community RIG

Chair: Gretchen Thompson
ghthomps2@gmail.com

Education and Work RIG

Chair: Kai Arthur Schafft
kas45@psu.edu

Family and Health RIG

Chair: Alex McIntosh
w-mcintosh@neo.tamu.edu
Co-Chair: Wes Dean
wdean@rsph.tamhsc.edu

Natural Resources RIG

Chair: Becky Schewe
rschewe@ssc.wisc.edu
Co-Chair: Jeffrey Jacquet
Jeffrey.jacquet@gmail.com

Population RIG

Chair: John Green
greenjj1@gmail.com
Co-Chair: Shannon Monnat
smm67@psu.edu

Rural Gender Issues RIG

Co- Chair: Julie Keller
jckeller@wisc.edu
Co-Chair: Lisa Pruitt
lrpruitt@ucdavis.edu

Rural Policy RIG

Chair: Wendy Fuller
wfuller@norwich.edu
Co-Chair: Douglas Jackson-Smith
doug.jackson-smith@usu.edu

Rural Poverty RIG

Chair: David Peters
dpeters@iastate.edu

Rural Studies RIG

Chair: Kate MacTavish
kate.mactavish@oregonstate.edu
Co-chair: Loka Ashwood
ashwood@wisc.edu

Rural Racial Ethnic Minorities RIG

Chair: Michelle Eley
mleley@ncat.edu

Senior Rural Sociologists RIG

Chair: J. I. (Hans) Bakker
hbakker@uoguelph.ca
Co-Chair: Bill Lacy
wblacy@ucdavis.edu

Sociology of Agriculture & Food RIG

Chair: Michelle Worosz
mrw0016@auburn.edu
Co-Chair: Rick Welsh
jrwelsh@syr.edu

Teaching and Curriculum RIG

Chair: Susan Farner
sfarner@uiuc.edu
Co-Chair: Jennifer Steele
jen.steele@mail.vwu.edu