Research and Interest Groups (RIGs)

Peggy Petrzelka (Chair)
Daniel Bornstein, student representative  (2015-2016)

Rural Policy RIG
Chair: Rhianna Williams
rlwillia@mtu.edu
 
Rural Poverty RIG 
Chair:Lisa Pruitt
lrpruitt@ucdavis.edu
 
Co-Chair: Eric Freeman
eric.freeman@wichita.edu
 
Rural Studies RIG
Chair: Loka Ashwood
lla0008@auburn.edu
 
Co-chair: Joe Jakubek
jakubek@ksu.edu
 
Rural Racial Ethnic Minorities RIG
Co-Chair: Mark Harvey
Mharve16@fau.edu
 
Co-Chair: Jose Garcia-Pabon
garciajl@wsu.edu
 
Senior Rural Sociologists RIG
Chair: J.I. (Hans) Bakker
hbakker@uoguelph.ca
 
Sociology of Agriculture & Food RIG
Chair: Dara Bloom
jdbloom@ncsu.edu
 
Co-Chair: Jessica Goldberger
jgoldberger@wsu.edu
 
Teaching and Curriculum RIG
Chair: Jeff Taylor – pending elections
jtaylor@wivalley.net
 
Co-chair: Anjel Stough-Hunter – pending elections
Stough.16@osu.edu
 
Applied and Extension RIG
Chair: Melissa Fry
frym@ius.edu
 
Community, Health and Family  RIG
Chair: Karl Jicha
kajicha@ncsu.edu
 
Youth, Education, and Rural Vitality RIG
Chair: John Sipple
jsipple@cornell.edu
 
Co-chair: Kai Schafft 
kas45@psu.edu
 
 Natural Resources RIG
Chair: Jessica Ulrich-Schad
jessicad.ulrich@gmail.com
 
Co-chair: Wes Eaton
eatonwes@msu.edu
 
Population RIG
Chair: Brian Thiede
bthiede@lsu.edu
 
Co-Chair: Jessica Ulrich-Schad
jessicad.ulrich@gmail.com
 
Rural Gender Issues RIG
Chair: Jennifer Sherman
jennifer_sherman@wsu.edu
 
Co-chair: Teresa Sobieszczyk
teresa.sobieszcyk@mso.umt.edu
 
International Development RIG (New RIG)
Chair: John Green
Greenjj1@gmail.com
 
Co-Chair: Cornelia Flora
cflora@iastate.edu